What are ETIAS? And Why will you need them?

What are ETIAS? And Why will you need them?

ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorisation System. It is a new visa-waiver system introduced by the European Union that will help the continent protect the countries of Schengen Border and the immigration issues arriving. To be accurate, there are a total of 26 countries that are currently a member of the Schengen Border Area. In this article, you would come to know everything about ETIAS.

These 26 countries are namely, Spain, Denmark, Italy, Sweden, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Finland, Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Estonia, France, Greece, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Starting from January 1st, 2021, ETIAS will be mandatory for travelers visiting Europe or any of these Schengen Area countries. But they will only be required by those travelers who belong to the countries that are allowed to roam Europe visa-free.

There are a total of 60 countries in the world whose citizens do not require a visa to stay in the European continents. For example, citizens of countries like New Zealand, Australia, Canada, and the USA does not require a visa to enter Europe but this is going to change soon as the European Union has introduced a new travel authorization system especially for these travelers.

Recommended News:

This new visa-waiver system is not applied to the citizens that always required a visa to enter the European nations as well as the countries falling on the Schengen border. So they will remain unaffected upon the application of this new travel authorization system.

It is suggested to apply for your ETIAS prior to your visit to Europe. To apply for your ETIAS you can just visit the official website of the European Travel Authorization where you will get an application form. The form will be as basic as any other application forms that you get online.

The form will ask you to fill out your personal information like your name, last name, middle name (optional), date of birth, place of birth, nationality, gender, etc. After you fill out these details you will be asked to wait a few minutes till they decide whether to grant you your ETIAS. About 95% of the population will receive their ETIAS immediately.

The process of getting your ETIAS is not as complicated as getting your passport but you will need a valid passport in order to apply for the European Travel Information and Authorization System.

The validity of your ETIAS will be of three years from the date of issue although it will expire as soon as your passport will expire. That means even if the expiry date of your ETIAS is far away but your passport is already expired that the ETIAS will not be considered valid.

With the help of ETIAS, you are allowed to stay in Europe for three months at once. The ETIAS permit you to visit the European nations for medical, transit, business and travel purposes only that means you are not allowed to stay in the country for education or job purpose with the help of this new travel authorization system by European Union.

About the author

Steve Murphy

Steve Murphy

Steve Murphy has handled various businesses throughout his career and has a deep domain knowledge. He founded Report Door in an attempt to bring the latest news to its readers. He is glued to the stock market most of the times and just loves being in touch with the developments in the business world.

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *